Provost Skene's House
Provost Skene's House
Provost Skene's House is temporarily closed to the Public
The House will be closed during the development of Marischal Square. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
The House
Dating from 1545, Provost Skene's House now houses an attractive series of period rooms, furnished to show how people lived in the 17th, 18th and early 19th centuries. The house is named after one of Aberdeen's most famous residents, Lord Provost George Skene, who is thought to have commissioned the carved plaster ceilings. Visitors can admire an unusual series of religious paintings in the Painted Gallery and enjoy changing displays of dress in the Costume Gallery.